Africa’s Hero

K6Botswana life, although often very hot and sometimes a rather frustrating place to live does come with quite a few perks. One being the vast amount of places to visit and the abundance of wildlife virtually on your doorstep. This place is constantly surprising me and I have yet to go a day without getting to marvel at at least one of the truly magnificent sights this world has to offer. Sunsets, animals, birds, reptiles, the list really just carries on and on.

This weekend was one of those times where I was just blown away with what Botswana has to offer. After thinking I was going to have a slightly boring weekend at home, I got a call from Allan who was away with his wife Susan at Khama Rhino Sanctuary telling me that it is amazing there and that I should come and join them. Well I think I debated the answer with myself for a whole 2 seconds before I rapidly stuffed some clothes into a bag, grabbed a few beers and hit the road and headed to the Sanctuary. As I was traveling it dawned on me that this would be Rangers (still to be named) first adventure and a spontaneous one of that. Three hours after crashing out of my front door and basically triK1pping over my own shoe laces I arrived at the sanctuary and was immediately in my element!

Seen as it was a little late and couldn’t go out and explore we set up around the fire, had some awesome chow followed by a few drinks, talks of what was to come and some good laughs before heading off to sleep. I really didn’t get to much sleep though due to my over excited mind.

The next morning, bright and early, we headed out on a sunrise game drive in the Ranger and let me tell you that this place is just, “WOW”, that was my first word out my mouth as we came through the thick bush into the clearing that overlooked a huge savanna plain or Pan as they call it. It was truly a picturesque view the way the sun was K3hitting the grass giving it a golden tinge. As I looked over the pan I was just filled with this immense happiness, typically that feeling that you get when you fall in love and let me tell you after spending a day driving around this place and sitting at the one water hole for almost two hours, I have definitely fallen for it.

Being a Rhino sanctuary, Rhinos are obviously the main attraction but that is not the only thing to see there although they are very special, beautiful and amazing animals and quite a privilege to get to see them especially due to the current situation surrounding them. I must say, Khama Rhino Sanctuary, you are doing an amazing job and should be classed as an Africa Hero!

Apart from the Rhino which we saw the Black and White Rhino we had a get day of sightings. Kori Bustard’s, Vultures (3 diff species), Springbok, Eland, Kudu, Steenbok, Gemsbok, Hartebeest, Impala, Giraffe, not to mention the wildebeest that were so close you could almost touch them, Zebra and well you just cant leave out the little warthogs. So all in all a great days sightings.

I was really a little upset when we had to leave but I guess it had to end sometime and there will always be a next time because I am guaranteed to be returning in the near future, plus there was a delicious bacon and cheese burger stop off on the road trip home 😉

Thanks again to Allan and Susan for a great weekend and for the invite, great time and awesome memories!

Until the next adventure!

Cheers!

K7K2K4

Categories: adventure | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.