Sunday Bliss

The past weekend was a rather chilly one here in Gaborone with temperatures in the low numbers for most of the day and a wind that resembled something I felt when I was in the snow in Lesotho last year. Ok maybe it wasn’t that bad, but on the day it sure felt like it.

That never deterred me however as I was up and ready to leave for the game reserve before the sun started to peek out from behind the horizon. After a quick check that I had all my camera gear, books and essentials, I headed out on the relatively short drive to the nearby Mokolodi Nature Reserve. Mokolodi is situated on the outskirts of Gaborone and is a place where I often spend many hours driving round, relaxing and trying to get that “perfect” photo. A beautiful place and a great way to spend a Sunday.

As the gates opened I was in the park and off on a mission. Although we never saw too much game, not as much as usual, we did have some great sightings. Impala, as usual being the most common. Giraffe, Kudu, Water buck and Hippo were a few of the others. I may have missed quite a few sighting though as I was really on the lookout for birds and this did not disappoint as I marked off a couple of new species to add to my list, favourite of the day being a pair of small Violet eared Waxbills.

A great day in the reserve by all accounts and as dusk started to creep in I called it a day. A few good photos in the bag and revitalised for the week ahead.

Until the next tale, catch me on Facebook!

Ranger Kid

Ps: I will be holding a fundraiser for Mokolodi Nature Reserve to help support the Bird Sanctuary and Reptile Park. So for more information or any donations please comment or contact me directly. All proceeds are going to a great cause.

P1160354IMG_1745IMG_1694IMG_1662

Categories: adventure | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sunday Bliss

  1. Colin

    Loving the pics and right ups Jon. Keep it up. I want to get back into photography.
    Love to visit when we make our next trip to SA to see the family.
    Take care, Colin

    • Thanks a million Colin. There will be lots more to come! You must definitely give me a shout next time you down this side of the world! Keep in touch! 😀

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.